Thank-you Letter From The Principal

20130417-午後031252.jpg

Nawwwww after writing my principal a thank-you letter for supporting me last week during my self introduction in front of all the principals in Kobe.

I came to school this morning to find he had written an article expressing how impressed he was with me in the weekly staff newsletter.

All day the other teachers have been telling me how surprised they are I learned to read and write (to be honest I’m still terrible). Feeling fair good about life today (*^^*)

I typed up copy below and provided liberal translations.

◇ 先日ALT紹介と,勤務説明会がありました。
ダニエル先生もしっかりと日本語で自己紹介していましたよ。

At a briefing for work the other day, the ALT’s introduced themselves.
Daniel spoke his self introduction firmly in Japanese.

「私は〜〜台中学校のダニエルといいます。好きな食べ物は餅です。八ツ橋は最高に美味しいで〜〜〜す。」

(Quoting some of my speech)
「I am Daniel from (my schools name) JHS, the food I love is mochi. Yatsuhashi (a specialty from Kyoto) is the most delicious’」

他校の校長先生からも大ウケでした。

It was well received by the other Principals there.

そして翌日,校長先生の机の上に,ダニエル先生からの手紙とチョコレートがおかれていました。とても優しい内容に嬉しくなりました。

Also the next day, on my table in the principals office, Daniel placed a letter and some chocolate (Terry’s chocolate orange in fact *^^*). His kind actions made me very happy.


仲間って良いですね!

He is a very good friend of mine!

20130417-午後030632.jpg
Here is a copy of the letter I have him.

3 thoughts on “Thank-you Letter From The Principal

    • In a word: Perseverance!
      I have only been studying seriously for the last 6 months but I do so for about 3-4 hours every day!
      Furthermore when I’m not studying I am constantly trying to read everything I see around me and looking up the kanji on Imiwa.
      Furthermore in the past month or so i have begun texting in Japanese a couple dozen times a day.

      All this and I’m still only scratching the surface……. but anyhow 頑張って!

  1. This is so sweet! I have a lot of learning Japanese to do before I head over! I got notification yesterday that I’m an early departure heading to Kobe on May 29! (Yay!)

Leave a Reply

