Merry Christmas From Nihonomnom!

christmas-japan

Yo guys, I apologize post have been scarce lately as I returned home for the holidays and Australia really isn’t the country to inspire interesting, thought provoking blogging ideas. I figure most should be enjoying the festive season and not be reading my constant stream of consciousness anyway XD

708782_10151352574435272_532068078_o

Regardless I have been busy getting into the holiday spirit…… as much as an Australian Christmas will allow. That said keeping to traditions is for those born prior to WW2 so alas I present to you the gingerbread castle of House Takoyaki!! Inspired by ‘A song of ice and fire’ which I am ever so obsessed with I couldn’t bring myself to make a simple house, that’s for regular jackoffs! Anyhow after sever hours of designing and baking the pieces yesterday morning, then enlisting the help of family last night, within 12 hours what was simply a figment of my imagination became a delicious Christmasy stronghold!

2008-11-26

Honestly though I couldn’t be happier to be back at home with my family and friends for the holidays, everyday I see posts from friends back in Kobe who decided to brave the holiday period without jumping country and its really just a tad depressing.

The Japanese seem to really have no grasp of what Christmas is or what it means for those who hail from countries where it is celebrated indigenously. Not that we really celebrate Christmas down under in all so much as what Europeans might consider a traditional sense but at least Aussie kids know the difference between Santa and Jesus 😛

christmas-funny-meme-Favim.com-245174

Anyhow wishing all my readers a happy holiday period where ever you are in the world and hope you have a delicious day ^______^

703056_10151352588460272_872492805_o

I leave you with Fuji-san rocking his much appreciated Christmas bone!

-たこ焼き

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas From Nihonomnom!

    • Haha I’m yet to experience either of those events!
      Australian Christmas is very chill and low key, heavily influence on what nationality you are I guess.
      New Year’s however is nothing short of an excuse to get wasted.
      When I lived in Australia I preferred to attend a week long music festival in the bush over New Years to evade the hecticness of the city though.

Leave a Reply

