Attempting To Bake A Cheesecake In Japan

Shortly after arriving in Japan almost 3 months ago I acquired a convection oven as I am quite the baking enthusiast. Unfortunately by western standard the Japanese just really don’t seem to know what an oven is which is why the ‘oven’ I purchased is nothing more than a glorified microwave.

Despite the plethora of settings and modes it comes equip with (33 in total, everything from steaming fish to warming sake) the only ones I really use are the oven, microwave and grill. This however is mostly due to the fact all the buttons are in Japanese and I’m fairly poor at kanji.

Anyhow this evening once overcoming the hurdles associated with purchasing all the necessary ingredients (mostly financial), I decided to try my hand at baking a cheesecake as I had been given some home made cookie crumbs by a departing JET. Now despite undertaking a few ambitious baking exploits in the past never had I deluged into the realm of cheesecakes so this was quite the experiment on my part.

Now one thing you will notice about the photos is the pan I used is meccha tiny, this is largely a reflection on the size of Japanese ovens, however the difficulty it presented to me was that all the recipes I came across upon searching were for much larger batches. Alas I took it upon myself to simply ‘wing it’ and see where my baking adventures would take me. The following is the recipe I ended up going with.

Crust:

  • 200g cookie crumbs
  • 100g butter, melted

Cake:

  • 200g cream cheese
  • 150ml fresh cream
  • 100g vanilla infused sugar
  • 1 egg + 1 yolk
  • 1 table spoon of vanilla essence
  • 3 Tablespoons of gelatin

Topping:

  • 100ml cream, whipped

Alas the following is the final product, lets just say it was very rich and tasty. As testament to this last Thursday I had 5 friends over to ‘taste test’ my baking exploits and they returned with positive feedback, the consensus being that it tasted like the milky candies.

All in all for a first try I’m ruling this quite the success, alas until next time ^_____^

One thought on “Attempting To Bake A Cheesecake In Japan

  1. I’am about to buy a secondhand convection microwave oven brand Panasonic. I’n kind of worry about it’s baking function, which is obviously not as a convection oven. Does it true that microwave oven can’t help us bake bread or difficult cakes like chiffon or souffle’ ? They advertised that I can adjust the temperature to eve 350 degree celcious, should I buy it or buy a good microwave oven and a convection oven instead? Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

