A no0b mistake….

20120621-163608.jpg
So today par usual on a Thursday I spent the day at one of my Shougakko (elementary school) and oddly enough every corner I turned I was met by a gonensai or rokunensai (yrs 5 & 6) boy who would ask me if I like tennis.
I know kids are really into sports here and not wanting to disappoint my stock standard response has been hai koukou no toki tennis wa meccha daisuki desuyo (when I was in high school I really loved tennis). Much to my confusion they found this response hilarious every time I said it, I thought to myself, hey maybe my pronunciation is off or something, I’m used to the kids being über genki so I thought nothing of it.

It wasn’t until one of my OTE’s pulled aside towards the end of the day and told me that I shouldn’t be telling the boys that I like penis that it dawned on me that all this time they probably weren’t saying tennis……

So yes I have spent the day emphatically telling 12 yr old boys that when I was in high school I loved penis!

3 thoughts on “A no0b mistake….

  1. XD My kids have done that one with me using “do you like pizza?” It’s amazing how many words sound like penis to Japanese kids. Last year when the anime Gintama was big a lot of kids asked if I liked kindama (testicals). I feel for that one a lot…

  2. Bahaha! I’ll be teaching high school, so I’m not sure whether they’ve moved past penis jokes (something tells me no), but I will be sure to keep a watch out for that. 😉

Leave a Reply

