Melbourne City Japanese Exchange Day Tour

So last week I completed my 5th year hosting Japanese students visiting Australia from a high school in Ibaraki Prefecture.

My position as TA (Travel Assistant……. the Japanese seem to love acronyms) required me to basically travel around the city with 8 of the students helping them navigate their way to the days activities which included Cooks Cottage in the Fitzroy Gardens, Old Melbourne Gaol, St Patrick Cathedral and Parliament House
Despite all our super fun (kinda) destinations my kids were really more interested in shopping for omiyage 😛

At the end of the day to say thank you to us, we were taken out to have a banquet dinner at the hotel, here’s a photo with me and my group, kids even gave me some presents before the whole year level sang us the school song!

Was super good experience for JET and totally got me excited about teaching next year, really thought to myself as I was leaving ‘yeah I can do this’ ^_^
Leave a Reply

